Communication Etiquette 101

“How are you today Philip?”

(silence)

“Philip, did you hear me? I said how are you today.”

(silence)

I doubt any of us would ever blatantly ignore someone that walked up to you and said hello. It’s just rude. However, it happens all the time with email, chat, voice messaging, and texts. Why? Do people actually think they are invisible behind a keyboard?

Of course, we cannot control how others deal with communication etiquette. It’s up to them. We can control how we treat our electronic communications with our clients, our co-workers, and our suppliers. One simple principal should remembered: “Treat others the same way you would like to be treated.”
For Informatech employees, that should mean that timely response is the norm. What if you don’t know the answer to the question being posed? Well, how would you respond if it were face to face? You would say, “I’m not sure how to answer you right now. Let me get back to you tomorrow (or the end of the week, or by a specific date). Never is ignoring the request acceptable.

There. I got that off my chest. Oh — in case you can’t get hold of me, here’s my contact info:

Phil Palmer
Phone: 801-386-0683
email: phil.palmer@informatech.cr
skype: phil.palmer
twitter: pjpalm801

One thought on “Communication Etiquette 101

  1. This happens to me all the time and I think I provoke it in other occasions. In distributed work environments people is using more and more ineffective communication tools like IM or even worse email to exchange critical information. The problem with those tools is that sometimes it allows the other party to ignore the message or in some cases due to malfunctioning of the tool employed the sender of the message perceives that is being ignored.

    That is why nothing is going to beat face time (not an apple related statement here) but as ideal as it is becoming more and more difficult to achieve, so what to do? Is my experience that for prompt, effective and reliable communication for distributed teams, voice should be used as much as possible if video conferencing is available even better!

    Interesting post, just wanted to give my .2

Leave a Reply

